Romance

This page is for books that are defined by the relationship in the book. It could be contemporary, historical, paranormal, futuristic, fantasy, mystery, or anything else, but it is about the relationship between the main characters.

*********************************************************************************

THIS DAY IS OURS by Gretchen Jeannette

Historical Romance

 

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: The American Colonies, 1776. As the flames of revolution spread across a divided land, a shadowy figure prowls the city of Philadelphia. Known only as Jack Flash, rebel highwayman, he preys on wealthy aristocrats loyal to the British Crown. The unpredictable outlaw always manages to stay one step ahead of his foes. Until the night he targets a Loyalist lady whose fiery spirit could spell his doom.

Alexandra Pennington believes she has her future well planned when a chance encounter turns her world upside down. Betrothed to a dashing king’s man suited to her in every way, the young widow becomes entangled with an unrefined rebel fiercely opposed to British rule. Against all reason, she finds common ground with an enemy of the Crown. The sensible course for her is clear, but her bond with the notorious rogue will test her loyalty not only to her king but also to the man she vowed to marry.

From the drawing rooms of Philadelphia to the battlefields of an emerging nation, one woman stands between two men fighting for love and honor in a war destined to change all their lives forever.

Review: This is not your typical historical romance. It’s epic in proportion and research, but that doesn’t mean it’s dry or boring. The author weaves the historical aspects in so lifelike that you feel as if you are there. Her characters are engaging and realistic and the love story between the Tory and the Patriot is as compelling as the the battle scenes. In this story, aristocratic widow Alexandra Pennington, is sought after by two men. Rich Royalist, Charles Villard and poor patriot, Dalton Jameson. Smooth talking Charles is not all he seems, but then, neither is Dalton. Her choice is not only between the two men, but two countries—the comfort of England, or the unknown new United States.

What I liked: the characters are richly developed and well-drawn. Their conflicts, both internal and external play well in the backdrop of the revolution. The realism of the war and the intensity of both sides is very well-done. It is obvious the author did her research and knows her subject. The little tidbits thrown in with language of that time (clothing, bandages, other little daily things that have changed over the years). Alexandra is intelligent, courageous when necessary, kind, but with a bit of a stubborn streak and a touch of recklessness that makes her an engaging character. The villain is a nasty sort (but with reason) but also likable on the surface. Dalton is down-to-earth, semi-illiterate (not unusual for that time period), and a true romantic hero. The secondary characters, especially Clue, are also skillfully done.

What I didn’t like: very little, though I will note that there were some very minor editorial glitches that made me stop a couple times (Note here: I’ve been an editor for 20 years. Most people wouldn’t notice these things, but I do). It’s also an epic story so be prepared for the length. But it’s worth it!

Recommendation: Like history? Like light romance? Then get this book. You will not be sorry. It’s got everything—romance, intrigue, action, battles, rogue characters, good imagery, and more.

Thanks to the author for providing this book.

Vicky 1/19/2020

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LOVE LETTERING by Kate Clayborn

Contemporary Romance

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: In this warm and witty romance from acclaimed author Kate Clayborn, one little word puts a woman’s business—and her heart—in jeopardy . . .

Meg Mackworth’s hand-lettering skill has made her famous as the Planner of Park Slope, designing custom journals for her New York City clientele. She has another skill too: reading signs that other people miss. Knowing the upcoming marriage of Reid Sutherland and his polished fiancée was doomed to fail is one thing, but weaving a secret word of warning into their wedding program is another. Meg may have thought no one would spot it, but she hadn’t counted on sharp-eyed, pattern-obsessed Reid.

A year later, Reid has tracked Meg down to find out how she knew that his meticulously planned future was about to implode. But with a looming deadline and a bad case of creative block, Meg doesn’t have time for Reid’s questions—unless he can help her find her missing inspiration. As they gradually open up to each other, both try to ignore a deepening connection between them. But the signs are there—irresistible, indisputable, urging Meg to heed the messages Reid is sending her, before it’s too late . . . 

Review: Rarely are two characters more diametrically opposed than Meg and Reid. They are complete opposites, but opposites who complement each other perfectly—like peanut butter and jelly. And that pretty much describes them. Meg is a whimsical artist who specializes in lettering. And in the beginning of the book, we learn all about serif, sans serif, upstrokes, and more that have to do with lettering. While it adds to the overall flavor of the story, I did find myself skipping over a lot of it. Reid, on the other hand, is definitely a numbers man but he comes across at times as a little too intense (though we find out why later). Meg loves New York while Reid hates it (for a reason discovered later also). But Reid’s willingness to be with Meg in her world through his “letter games”was so sweet. I had a little trouble getting into the book, but past the first half, it pulled me in more. It is a good story about love, friendship, honesty, and building a slow relationship instead of all in at the beginning.

What I liked: The way the author wove together Meg and Reid—such different people who discovered they could work well together. Meg’s determination at the end to solve the “signs” (don’t want to give the end away, but this was really interesting!). I also liked that Meg and her friend found their love for each other again. And Reid’s family was so neat. But, best of all, were the word games. Finding letters all around the city. Made me want to go out and look around my town at all the different signs.

What I didn’t like: It was a little slow in the beginning to the point where I put it down a few times to pick up other books, but eventually it drew me in. Also, although the letter styles were interesting and added to the overall story, they really meant little to me so I tended to skip over them a lot.

Recommendation: For a sweet, slow romance with a bit of intrigue, I’d definitely pick this one up.

Thanks to the publisher for providing this ARC.

Vicky 1/19/2020

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PUBLISH OR PERISH by Kerry Blaisdell

Romantic Suspense – Contemporary

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler 

Blurb: When computer whiz Emma O’Manny’s scientist husband dumps her on Valentine’s Day, vandalizing his office seems like a justifiable—if petty—response. But then Dan’s small plane crashes under mysterious circumstances, and Emma’s suddenly the prime suspect in a double homicide. Worse, Dan may have faked important vaccine safety research, to further his career—and the digital trail leads to Emma. Can she determine which data is correct, to prove her innocence? Or will Dan keep controlling her life, even from the grave?
…THE FIRST TO PUBLISH WINS…
Detective Vin Bronislovas came to Portland to rebuild his reputation, after nearly blowing a years-long investigation by believing the lies of a mobster’s daughter. A single misstep—like falling for another suspect—would destroy his career and ruin his life. But when the killer strikes again, and Emma and her children are threatened, Vin must choose between the Job and love. Can he trust his gut? Or will repeating his past mistakes allow a murderer to go free, and potentially put millions of children at risk from an unsafe vaccine?
…AND ANYONE CAN MAKE A KILLING. ANYONE.

Review:  This is a romantic suspense book with more twists and turns than a roller coaster. It’s also got some hot scenes – so definitely not for the non-adult set. Not erotic, but definitely PG-17+. The characters are well-drawn and the setting adds to the overall tone of the story. Although Emma and Vin are the main characters, the relationships between other characters are also part of the plot.

What I liked:  I loved Azi, Vin’s uncle. He has Down’s Syndrome and is struggling to find his independence, a beautiful subplot to the story. I loved LJ—the mob guy who isn’t a mob guy. He’s so sweet! I liked the first scene where Vin and Emma meet—not an auspicious meeting, but it had me laughing! I could just see the scene. I liked the Karen/Parker situation and how it played out. I liked the “black moment” – I was pretty sure I knew who the perp was, but the author did keep me guessing until the last scene. There were a lot of other things I liked as well. It’s a good book…but:

Things I didn’t like: I really didn’t like Emma’s mother. Okay, I understand the reasoning behind her actions, but she was not likeable. Also, the ending with Vin and Emma seemed almost too rushed. What about the feelings of the kids? It just didn’t work well for me. I’d rather have seen it as an epilogue a few months later.

Recommendation: Kerry has great promise as a romantic suspense author. I would definitely read more by her and with that in mind, I do recommend this book.

Thanks to the author for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.

Vicky 1/7/2020

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THEN THERE WAS YOU by Lynn Crandall

Contemporary Romance

sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: Runaway bride Cherish Moss never anticipated the outcome of her wedding day. Will she regret the path not taken or embrace new adventures and opportunities ahead? Opposites attract in Lynn Crandall’s Love in Dunes Bay novel debut, a truly unputdownable story. Cherish Moss is well aware that most people would do anything for the life she has—accomplished attorney, daughter of a wealthy family, and hours away from her wedding day. But on the inside, she is barely breathing and no one even notices. When she leaves her fiancé at the altar, she waits for the feeling of remorse…so why as she runs out of the church and down the street does, she feel like she’s reclaiming her life? Grayson Steele is hiding out having left his dream job in Chicago as an investigative reporter. After exposing police corruption, the threats on his life came fast and furious and now he has to not only protect himself but his family too. He’s not interested in a relationship. He can’t be, because he won’t put anyone in danger. But after meeting Cherish at a local bar, his longing for her is intense and it won’t go away. The timing is all wrong for them both, but Grayson and Cherish must face the unwanted fate they helped create or follow their hearts to survive.

Review: Gray has moved back to Dunes Bay from Chicago supposedly to help his father with his shipbuilding company, but it was really to get away from the death threats that came from an expose’ he wrote on crooked cops. Cherish, a lawyer, is engaged to Devin—a high power lawyer with questionable ethics. Cherish also works with her sister and parents. Her parents are as controlling as Devin. Charity runs out on the wedding and meets Gray.

What I liked: Grayson and his family are amazing. They are so close, and his brothers are so much fun. Rachel—Cherish’s sister—is interesting. The imagery is beautiful. The emotional connection between Gray and Cherish is well-done (if a little quick). I like Cherish’s ethics and the way she handled the big case.

What I didn’t like: minor editorial issues (though I will note this an ARC so is not final). There were also a couple minor timeline issues–an awful lot happened on one day that should have probably been spaced over a couple days. I didn’t care for the way Cherish seemed so… cowled by Devlin and her parents. She almost slid into the TSTL (too stupid to live) side of things. Devin was borderline abusive—physically and emotionally in addition to being unethical. Cherish knows her parents are also unethical, but she has no problem working for them. She tells them to go straight…and nothing happens to them, though they’d been doing illegal things. I have a problem with that.

Recommendation: Though there was a lot happening in this story, and it has a satisfying ending that left me smiling, the story overall didn’t grab me. That’s not saying it’s a bad book. It’s not. It has a really good premise, it just didn’t draw me. So… sweet romance, lots of action, HEA that satisfies. If these work for you, pick it up.

Vicky 1/1/20

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ATTIC LETTERS: SECRETS OF LOVE AND WAR by Laurie Adams

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: An ordinary life…Everything in Daniel Coughlin’s life in Brooklyn has been comfortable. His Irish Catholic roots tie his extended family together in a close knot. His life is ordinary — but perfect.Until Daniel uncovers life-altering family secrets…A rift with his oldest son, Liam, threatens to ruin their family Christmas. Daniel’s elderly mother is emphatic that the box of WWII love letters hidden in her attic will solve the problem between him and Liam, but Daniel has no interest in reading them. What answers can fifty-year-old letters hold for him? The tension threatens to rip apart his family. Spurred by his mother’s insistence, and having no other choice, Daniel gives in and starts reading.And he’s stunned to learn that his family’s history isn’t so ordinary.What he learns flips his world upside down, shattering what he has always believed about his family’s history and his own. Instead of pulling the family back together, will these revelations push them farther apart?

Review: I wasn’t sure what I was going to get with this book. Was it a historical? A contemporary? Both? Neither? And WWII? But the author hooked me from the first page and didn’t let me go until the end. Part of it is a historical love story told through letters from WWII from a young soldier in Europe, his sister-in-law in the states, and his love interest in Paris. It’s also the story of a 50-something man today and his relationship with his son—and the son’s fiancé. It’s also about Daniel’s relationship with his mother. Everything in the book is tied to the letters and what Daniel learns through them. The story made me laugh, made me cry, brought despair—and hope. It’s poignant and sweet with a good ending.

What I liked: The way Liz (Daniel’s) wife deals with him, showing him that he’s being an idiot, but supporting him when he needs it. I absolutely loved the ending. I liked the way the author interspersed the letters with the present, giving us both sides. I loved Maggie, Daniel’s mother.

What I didn’t like: very little. If anything at all, at times the story was a bit slow, but the subject matter and characters make up for it.

Recommendation: Though a little slow at times, this is a really good story with believable characters and a satisfying ending that leaves you smiling. I recommend it as something different to read. A bit of history. A bit of contemporary story. A bit of family issues. But all those bits make an interesting story.

Thanks to the author for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.

Vicky 1/5/2020

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RUNAWAY LOVE STORY by Sadira Stone

Contemporary Romance

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: She hates average…he’s as average as they come.

High school history teacher Doug Garvey is trying to enjoy his last few weeks of summer vacation, but receiving his final divorce decree hits him harder than expected. After a brief fling fizzles, he fears love just isn’t in the cards for him. If only he could find someone who’s real, someone interested in something beyond herself…maybe a new running partner who can keep up with his more carnal appetite. When sexy, straight-talking Laurel runs across his path, he dares to hope again. He’s done with social-climbing posers…she’s ambitious and has big dreams. Fired from an art gallery, Laurel Jepsen shelves her pursuit of an art career in San Francisco to help her beloved great aunt Maxie move into assisted living. While out on a morning run, she’s harassed by a group of teens until a tall, broad-shouldered hottie steps in, pretending to be her boyfriend with a kiss that makes her wish it were true. But she’s only passing through, not looking for a relationship. Their fierce chemistry burns up the sheets—and the couch, the shower, the forest—but falling in love would ruin everything. Laurel can’t stay in Eugene, and he can’t leave. Doug’s only hope is to convince her the glittery life she’s after could blind her to the opportunities already in her path.

Review: Laurel is flighty, angsty, easily cowled by her father and someone who runs—not just physically (though she does that a lot), but also when things go wrong, she runs. And there’s a lot that goes wrong in her life. When she’s fired from her job at an art gallery, her family sends her to Eugene, OR to help her aunt Maxie prepare for a move to a retirement home. Along the way, she meets Doug, a divorced history teacher and also a runner, and a friend of Maxie’s.Things heat up, but getting involved with someone doesn’t match Laurel’s plans to move to San Francisco as soon as she can to pursue a job in an art gallery.

What I liked: Maxie! She is an absolute hoot! This is a sweet romance with some heat. The chemistry between Laurel and Doug is real and believable as is the conflict. He won’t leave Eugene and she doesn’t want to stay. I loved how her lack of self-confidence came across so well and turned into success with her art. And though I didn’t particularly like what happened with Maxie, I appreciated the emotions the author pulled from me.

What I didn’t like: Laurel has a lot of baggage (as does Doug) which makes her come across as a less than likable character at times. But her growth through the story makes up for this lack. Also, at times, the story was a little repetitive—same problem, new situation, which made it a little slow at times.

Recommendation: If you’re looking for a nice romance of the “beach read” type, then pick this one up. It’s a cute story with a HEA ending that will satisfy.

Thanks to the author for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review

Vicky 12/29/19

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LACEWOOD by Jessica James

Romance with historical connections

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Katie McCain is a New York socialite daughter with a demanding mother and agent. But she’s tired of all the nonsense that goes with her glitzy lifestyle. While on a trip to DC, she rents a car and drives into the Virginia countryside, hoping to find her grandmother’s old home. A place where she spent childhood summers. She gets lost and ends up on a back road looking at an abandoned mansion. The local sheriff finds her and lets her into the place to look around—and she falls instantly in love with the dilapidated place. She decides to buy it and restore it and plans on doing the work herself. Her agent—and most of the townspeople in the tiny town nearby—think she’s crazy. Katie gets help in the the shape of Will, a local guy who’s suffering from PTSD from the Navy. Together, the two of them work on the mansion, and themselves. In the process, they find companionship, comfort, and even a ghost or two.

What I liked: Katie rolling up her sleeves and doing a lot of the work herself. And Will’s service dog. The descriptions were beautifully done—I could almost “see” the mansion. I also liked the description of the small town—the people were spot on (trust me, I know. I’ve lived in a place like that!). I also liked the ties to Annie Logan and the past (1860’s). At first, I didn’t care for the chapters about Annie and Jon, but by the end of them, I was crying and caught up in their story. I also loved the description of the rain on the metal roof. Perfect. I also loved that Katie did actually find her grandmother’s home. I also loved “Rosie” the tractor! Fun.

What I didn’t like: I know Katie was determined to do things herself, but there had to be things she couldn’t do—like replacing windows, electricity, plumbing… things she would have had to hire someone for. I’d liked to have least seen a passing note about these workmen being there. Also, as demanding as Katie’s mother supposedly is, why isn’t she there demanding Katie return or something like that? I’d think she’d make at least an attempt to get Katie back home.

Recommendation: This is a sweet story with historical ties. It’s not quite a historical romance, but the history of Annie and Jon figures heavily in Katie’s story. I’d definitely recommend this book.

Vicky 12/29/19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FORTUNE’S FOLLY by Cat Dubie

Historical romance

sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: In 1867, Eden Fitzgerald marries, not for love or money, but to persuade her influential in-laws to obtain her father’s release from a contrived prison sentence. Cleverly evading those who believe she, like her father, is a smuggler and Fenian collaborator, Eden does what she can, what she must to achieve her goal. When legal methods are exhausted, she dons a mask, carries a pistol and, using her wiles, wits, even her seductive beauty, robs wealthy citizens to amass enough money to arrange her father’s escape. Her life grows ever more complicated by the lustful attentions of several men who profess to love her, and the one man she loves but dares not trust. As her crimes worsen, culminating in what may be treason, and her enemies grow more dangerous and determined to apprehend her, she must run for her own freedom.

Review: I really enjoyed this book up to a point, which you’ll see below. I will note, however, that there were multiple—albeit minor—editorial issues that occasionally hit me, mostly point of view shifts so I wasn’t sure who I was supposed to be with at sometimes. Again, for most people, they wouldn’t notice this, but I did.

What I liked: I loved Eden. She goes completely against what is normal for a woman of that time period (yay here!). She knows what she wants and goes after it (in most cases). Unfortunately, that’s often to her detriment as she gets involved in multiple nefarious dealings. Her brother-in-law is a good character. I didn’t like him at all, but he is still a good character. As are many of the other characters. The author did a good job of building them. And setting the story mostly in Canada—something not usually done, but enjoyable. The author also does a decent job of describing the setting—I could almost see the cold rooms of Louis’ Montreal home.

What I didn’t like: And the only reason this got three stars—was that it didn’t end. This is a serialized story with a “To Be Continued” ending that upset me completely. I *hate* these kinds of stories. I hate that I will be forced to purchase the next book to find out what happens to Eden. I don’t know that I will do that. This kind of ending usually irks me enough that I refuse to purchase more books by the authors who do this, but… I enjoyed this one enough that I might.

Recommendation: I highly recommend this book with the caveat that it is not a stand alone and does not end and needs slightly better editing. If you don’t mind those things, then pick this one up. It is a decent story that held my interest right up to the last page.

Thanks to the author for providing this in exchange for an honest review.

Vicky 12/21/19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RED SNOWFLAKES by Kristal Dawn Harris

Paranormal Romance (Vampires), Christmas, Novella

sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: Forensic photographer, Dena Williams, has spent her life trained to see what others cannot. Vampire, Dimitri Kovac, has waited every Christmas for a miracle that does not come. In the Oregon wilderness, during a snowstorm, these two destined souls collide. Dena’s only hope of survival rests in a vampire with the heart of a poet. Dimitri only has five days to win a skeptical woman’s heart. As the Christmas tree lights burn brightly and the snow continues to fall, will Dena succumb to a vampire’s charms? With so little time, can Dimitri win her love?

Review: Wow. Hot, emotional, reminiscent of “Beauty and the Beast” but with a hunky vampire. In this case Gaston is played by a serial killer and, though we aren’t there, he does get his in the end.

What I liked: The beautiful red snowflakes that Dmitri shapes from glass – it’s so touching that Dena wants to hang them all on their tree. The opening of the story is very strong—and very CSI. So be forewarned—it’s a murder scene and she’s photographing it. I loved the imagery the author gives us—it’s beautiful. I loved that Dmitri’s best friend is a pastor of a church. Plus, Dmitri isn’t your run-of-the-mill vampire.

What I didn’t like: Very little. This is a steamy hot vampire romance that ties into Christmas. Okay, I’d have liked for it to be a little longer (it’s a novella), but seriously, that’s it.

Recommendation: If you like hot, hunky vampires who set your blood to pounding, this novella is definitely for you.

Thanks to the author for providing this story in exchange for an honest review

Vicky 12/21/19

*******************************************************************************

COVEN OF SECRETS by C. J. Beaumont

Paranormal Romance (witches – Urban Fantasy)

sparkler sparkler sparkler

Blurb: Once touched by darkness, always tainted. Roxanne Cole swore off magic for a reason. But now her little sister Kathryn has gone missing, and the only person willing to help is her pretty-boy nemesis, Ray Hammond. Roxy’s not sure she can trust him, but with nowhere else to turn, she’s forced into an uneasy alliance. When the coven’s high priestess also goes missing, it seems her sister’s disappearance is just a small piece of a much bigger puzzle. And the more she works with Ray, the more she realizes he’s just another temptation that could add to the ever-increasing magical missing persons count. As bodies start dropping and the death toll rises, it becomes clear someone is declaring war on the Bayshore Witches. Now, if Roxy wants her little sister back, she’ll have to decide what, and who, she’s willing to sacrifice.

Review: Wow, does this story grab you from the first page. There’s a lot of impact in the first paragraphs…BUT… I will note here that the beginning has a “suicide attempt” that could be a trigger for some people. I have a friend who would lover this story, but I won’t recommend it to her because of that scene and the way the subject arises through the story.

What I liked: the characters. They are well-developed with issues and problems that go beyond what we in the “normal” world deal with, although there is crossover. I can absolutely see religious fanatics going after people because they are witches. It’s an interesting commentary on our “conform or else” society. I also loved the cat Logan, the way he shows up and settles in. The issues between Roxy and Ray Hammond were good—she hasn’t forgotten their past, he has no clue. I really liked the way they came to an agreement on jobs. So funny.

What I didn’t like: and the only reason it got 3 sparklers instead of higher, was that this is NOT a stand alone book. It doesn’t end. It’s a “to be continued” story, which I detest. I know it’s a marketing ploy, but it really makes me angry to get so invested in a story, and it doesn’t end. The story is a good story, the ending isn’t.

Recommendation: with the caveats listed above, if you can handle them, pick this up. It’s a good story.

Thanks to the author for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.

Vicky 12/21/19

************************************************************************************

 

IN LOVE BY CHRISTMAS by Cari Lynn Webb

sparkler  sparkler sparkler sparkler

Sweet romance – Christmas

Blurb: All Theo Taylor wants for Christmas is a profitable year-end and a flawless wedding for his sister. Hiring beautiful but unknown designer Josie Beck is a huge risk, especially when the Taylors’ reputation is at stake. Josie is sweet, kind, and impossible to resist. But is Josie about to destroy Theo’s perfect wedding plan…or is she the answer to his heart’s secret Christmas wish?

This is a sweet Christmas romance from Harlequin with all the standard tropes you expect from one of their stories, which is not a bad thing. Theo is a handsome businessman who is all about profits. His sister Arianna is planning her perfect winter wedding but their mother has other plans—her own wedding (even though she doesn’t have a boyfriend). Lilian Taylor picks the same gown as Arianna, the same flowers, and even samples the menu all while using a matchmaker to find her the groom she’ll need. Theo has to intervene and picks Josie to design the new gown for his sister. Josie is barely  making ends meet, but that doesn’t stop her from helping women struggling even more than she is to have the perfect wedding gown. Taylor can’t understand someone like Josie, but she intrigues him. Even though they come from very different backgrounds, they have more in common than they realize.

What I liked: that it was a sweet, easy-to-read romance with a happily-ever-after ending. I liked Mia’s (Josie’s best friend) mother and mother-in-law. They were amazing and I wish I knew them!

What I didn’t like: Lilian. Yes, she was supposedly doing what she did on purpose, but the things she did really made me hate her and her redemption in the end didn’t work for me. I had trouble forgiving her.

Recommendation: If you’re looking for a sweet Christmas story with a HEA ending, pick this one up. You won’t be sorry.

Thanks to the author for providing this in exchange for an honest review.

Vicky 11/5/19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THAT APRIL IN SANTA MONICA by Melody DeBlois

sparkler  sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Madison is an interesting, realistic character who, like many, is driven, fueled by caffeine and junk food. She seldom slows down to relax. Her “always on” lifestyle catches up to her and we meet her as she’s slowly coming to after fainting. Her rescuer is guru Brandon, there to try to talk her into changing her life before she kills herself.

Scared by her prognosis, she agrees to take part in Brandon’s reality show and become his next student project. But the rules don’t fit with her life. No junk food, no caffeine, no alcohol or cigarettes, no cell phone, no outside contact beyond her sister. She tries rebellion, but when the producers threaten to kick her out, she agrees.

The presence of cameras everywhere except the bathroom and study keeps their growing attraction at bay. Plus, Brandon is determined not to get involved with a student. There’s a lot of sexual tension, and their attraction is clear, but they don’t even kiss until near the end. And the heat between the sheets, when they finally get there, is tastefully described, with more emotion than physicality.

The secondary characters here were a lot of fun, too, from the folks on the program crew, to Maddie’s crazy family—and the dog! Loved that mutt. Also lots of soul searching and life changes here for both Maddie and Brandon.

What I liked: the characters. Especially Maddie. She’s so real. And quirky, snarky, broken, and changes and grows very much through the story. I loved the setting details and the struggles Maddie faces. The tension between the characters was really well done.

What I didn’t like: very little. Well done book.

Recommendation: Definitely recommended.

Vicky 10/25/19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NICK OF TIME by Allison B. Hanson

Contemporary Romance

sparkler  sparkler sparkler sparkler sparkler

Nicole (aka Nic) is left standing at the altar by the man she’d been with for almost seven years. He finally accepted that he was gay—on their wedding day. Nic pastes on a smile and goes on with her life, even if it means being best “man” at her best friend’s wedding. The biggest problem there isn’t getting through the ceremony, but in dealing with his younger brother, Tucker. Tucker has been a thorn in her side from childhood and she’s developed a healthy hate for him.

Tucker hates weddings. They mean “forever” and he doesn’t do things that last. A fallen rock star who hit bottom and has clawed his way back out, he knows his family doesn’t trust him. That distrust extends to his brother’s best friend, Nicole. She’s too out of his league. Too…perfect.

Due to circumstances beyond their control, Tucker and Nicole end up stranded together in a cabin during an ice storm. One thing leads to another and… The hot and heavy night turns into strong attraction that keeps them coming back for more. Though they agree it’s nothing serious, they’re denying what’s really there. But the life of a rock star means travel and temptations. How can Nic trust Tucker? How can he trust himself?

What I liked: This isn’t normally my genre of book. I rarely read contemporary romance, but I am so glad I did read this one. Both Nicole and Tucker are broken. You can be rich and entitled and still be broken. The author makes it believable and pulls at your emotions so strongly that I had to finish this book in one day. The characters are realistic, the settings nice (though I could use just a little more detail), and the HEA ending satisfying.

What I didn’t like: Nothing. Like I said above, this really pulled me in and kept me turning the pages.

Recommendation: If you like romance, definitely pick this one up. It’s a good story with believable characters and a satisfying ending. Be prepared for it to pull at your heartstrings.

Vicky 10/2/19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

A WITCH IN TIME by Wynter Daniels & Catherine Kean

sparklersparklersparkler

Paranormal/Time Travel Romance

It’s 1645 and Colin Wilshire is onboard a ship with his pregnant wife. They’re near Florida and heading for Barbados when a horrific storm hits them. The ship wrecks and while trying to save those he can, Colin is hit on the head and ends up in Cat’s Cove in modern times. He’s found by Luna, a witch, who recognizes him from her dreams. Though they both fall for each other, Colin is desperate to get back to his wife…until he discovers it’s not necessary.

Things I liked: It’s a cute, sweet, short (novella length) story with good characters and a satisfying ending.

Things I didn’t like: There’s not much setting given. Yes, it’s a short story, but I’d like a little more detail. Also, a question… how does Luna get rid of Chuck? That’s never addressed—or are we supposed to guess?

Recommendation: If you’re looking for a quick, light, fluff piece, this is it. It’s fun, but there’s not much substance here.

Vicky 9/10/19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

TAMING A SCANDAL by Linda Carroll-Bradd

Historical Romance – Novella

sparkler sparkler sparkler

This was a sweet historical romance and I loved the bits of true history the author added in that showed she did her research—and yes, I checked. J

Mercia Saunders has been attending art school in Philadelphia. While on a break and visiting her family in Rhode Island, she discovers she has been evicted from her rooming house in Philly, and to escape the scandal, she is being sent to her older brother in the wilds of Texas. To complicate matters, a Pinkerton detective, Dominic Grant, has been set on her trail, both to watch her for her father, and to see if she’s involved in the theft of a silver locket. Dominic does this through a series of disguises that she never quite sees through.

The story is sweet and has a HEA ending, but… Mercia starts off as a somewhat spoiled single woman (she’s 25) and that doesn’t change. Characters are usually supposed to grow and change through a story and she doesn’t. Though she does downgrade her wardrobe at the end, she’s still very much into herself. Dominic changes a lot (pun intended) as he goes through at least five disguises while watching her, but that also is all on the surface. There’s not much depth to him. But at least he helps out on the ranch. Although I liked the characters, I’d really have liked to have seen some more depth to them. And yes, I realize this is a short novella and a quick read, but there could ha be been a little more development, especially where Mercia is concerned.

Seeing the setting through artistic Mercia’s eyes was interesting—and well done. It’s one of the best parts of the story. The differences between Philadelphia and the tiny town in Texas; the long travel by train, stagecoach, and more. Excellently done.

I think, however, the thing that bothered me the most was that the mystery wasn’t solved. We never find out who took the locket. I have a feeling this part of the story is continued in the other stories in the series, but it bothered me.

So… overall, if you’re looking for just a quick, fun, sweet, quick read, definitely pick this one up. I do enjoy the writer’s style and her attention to detail. But if you’re looking for depth, this isn’t it.

Vicky 7/27/19

 

RINGS OF FAOLAN – RUBIES by Kristal Dawn Harris

3 1/2 sparklers

2nd in series Shapeshifter Romance – high heat level

theringsoffaolanrubies_w13215_750-1When Michael and Natalie first meet, they know they are mates and are destined to be together, but they fight their attraction. However, when Michael is injured by Hunters who have vowed to eradicate all Lycans, Natalie goes to his ancestral home to help him heal and to help restore his home to its former glory. While there, Natalie discovers Michael’s protection of Lycans includes half-breed orphans, she finds herself falling for him despite herself. His surly exterior hides a noble character.

Good things: This is a moving story with solid world-building, well-crafted, believable characters and well-done fantasy mixed with realism. The end was a satisfying (and fun) HEA for the two main characters—with the surprise wedding being really cute. The way the characters care for the children, especially the half-breeds, is beautifully done.

Issues: I had trouble getting into the story. It was like coming into the story in the middle of it. This is the second book in a series and it shows. It was only after I was into it that I realized this one must take up after the first one ends so unless you’ve read the first one, you may not “get” everything that’s happening. Also, although the end is satisfying, it also leaves an awful lot of threads dangling so you know there’s going to be more. Once I was into the story, I enjoyed it, but honestly, had I not been reading this for a review, I probably wouldn’t have gone past the first chapter. I’m glad I did, but I believe you really need to read the first one (Emeralds) before this one in order to understand what’s going on with the characters.

Recommendation – pick this one up only if you’ve read the Emeralds one first.

Vicky 8/6/19

 

HAZELANNE by Linda Carroll-Bradd

4 sparklers

HazelanneGenre: Historical, America, Utah, 1884

Note: this is a novella of 114 pages

Hazelanne is a young woman who has shouldered the responsibility of her large family after her mother takes ill. But finances are meager. To help alleviate them somewhat, she agrees to be a mail-order bride to a rancher in Utah. When she gets there, the man she is to marry comes off as rough, somewhat cruel, and impatient. He hauls her off the stagecoach straight to the judge. When she arrives at the rustic cabin, she sees her life ahead as one of drudgery, similar to what she left. And a husband who refuses to call her anything more than “wife”. Fortunately, her life does change, but not in the way she imagined and thanks to the Wells Fargo guard, Brice, whom she met on her ride.

The plot was good and true to the times and the characters well-developed and believable. I really enjoyed getting into the story. And the ending was perfect. It left me smiling and satisfied. As far as the story went, I would recommend this.

So what didn’t I like? Why didn’t it get a 5 rating? I will be honest, it’s something that is probably only a problem for me. But there were quite a few editorial issues. Oh, they’re minor things. I will grant that. But there were enough of them that it bothered me a little. And again, it may only be because I have twenty years as an editor. So it appears obvious only to me. I will grant that.

So… if you can overlook the minor editorial issues, I definitely recommend this story. It’s a good story with believable characters.

FREEDOM’S PATH by Linda Carroll-Bradd (Historical, American)

5 sparklers

This is a short story, historical (1855 Vermont) and concerns the Underground Railroad.

To be honest, this type of story is not my normal go-to read. But, that being said, the author drew me in with her characters, the world-building, the story-line… She grabbed me and didn’t let me go until the end. And when the story ended, I was disappointed that there wasn’t more. I wanted to continue on with Sidonie and Colin’s story. To find out what happens to them. To experience their adventures with them.

Sidonie is a maid at a local inn, but she is also a conductor on the Underground Railroad, helping slaves escape. One of her favorite customers at the inn is Colin, a salesman. Except he’s not just a salesman. He’s an army corporal tasked with upholding the law—the law that says he has to arrest anyone caught helping slaves escape.

You really need to read this story to find out what happens between Sidonie and Colin. And it won’t take long. Like I said, this is a short story so it goes fast (mostly because of the author’s skill in telling the story). If you like historical books set in the colonial US, you’ll love this. If you’re not huge into historicals, you’ll still love it. I did, and that says a lot. Enjoy. I know I did. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07JZ2DGB6/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_hsch_vapi_tkin_p1_i10

Vicky 6/21